About Us Site Map Search Italiano Bahasa Melayu Home

Country Fact Sheets

basic facts about each of the four Australasian countries

The Australian Commonwealth
Capital city: Canberra
Major cities: Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne
Population: 10 million
Major industries: manufacturing, education, agriculture, forestry, fisheries
Languages: English, with Italian, Greek, German, Polish main minority languages
Currency: Australian dollar (A$)
States: New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria, Tasmania
Territories: Australian Capital Territory, Norfolk Island, Macquarie Island, Australian Antarctic Territories
Defence: army strength 35 000, navy 10 submarines, 10 destroyers, air force 16 squadrons

Free State of Queensland -
L'État Libre du Queensland

Capital: Townsville
Major cities: Rockhampton, Toowoomba, Cairns, Port Moresby, Noumea
Population: 6 million
Major industries: agriculture, pastoralism, fishing, tourism, mining
Languages: English, French, Pigin, various Melanesian languages
Currency: Queensland franc (QF)
Prefectures: Capricornia, Carpentaria, Papua, Niugini, Nouvelle Caledonie
Territories: Torres Strait Islands, Coral Sea, Niubritin, Bougainville, Solomons, New Hebrides
Defence: army strength 30 000, navy 12 submarines, 8 destroyers, air force 12 squadrons.

Union of Westralia
Capital: Perth
Major cities: Darwin, Broome, Geraldton, Bunbury, Alice Springs
Population: 3.5 million
Major industries: mining, fishing, pastoralism, tourism, e-commerce
Languages: English, Malay/Indonesian, Italian, various Aboriginal languages
Currency: Westralian ringgit (WR)
Provinces: Hesperia, Auralia, Pilbara, Kimberley, Arafura
Territories: Centralia, Indian Ocean Islands
Defence: army strength 20 000, navy 10 submarines, 12 destroyers, air force 13 squadrons.

Dominion of New Zealand
Capital: Wellington
Major cities: Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Dunedin
Population: 3.8 million
Major industries: agriculture, manufacturing, forestry
Languages: English, Maori, various Polynesian languages
Currency: New Zealand Pound (NZ £)
Provinces: Northland, Auckland, East Coast, Hawkes Bay, Taranaki, Wellington, Marlborough, Nelson, Westland, Canterbury, Otago and Southland
Territories: Niue, Cook Islands, Tokelau, Ross Dependency
Defence: army strength 12 000, navy 5 submarines, 2 destroyers, air force 7 squadrons.